ISO 45001 Certification

What ISO 45001 Certification?

ISO 45001 specifies the requirements for an Occupational Health and Safety Management System (OHSMS) and provides guidance for its implementation to enable organizations to provide a safe and healthy work environment for the employees and visitors. ISO 45001 provides a set of guidelines to control and reduce workplace accidents, deaths, or injuries. Also, achieving ISO 45001 certification aids in minimizing the operational wastes and costs of unnecessary expenses. Moreover, ISO 45001 certification ensures the employees’ safety that certainly increases the process efficiency of the organizations.

ISO 45001:2018 Version

This is the current version of ISO 45001 standard, developed with a process approach to reduce the operational errors and risks in the management system. As ISO 45001:2018 is proposed with a high-level structure and PDCA cycle, it can be integrated with other ISO management system standards. Also, its risk-based thinking approach helps the organizations to meet their customers’ requirements consistently and achieve ISO 45001 certification.

What does it mean to be ISO 45001 Certified?

Organizations that achieve ISO 45001 certification obtain and maintain an effective OHSMS, as per ISO guidelines. ISO 45001 certification is a process to ensure that ISO standards are implemented to manage occupational safety and health issues in the work environment by following all required steps such as risk assessment, accident investigation, safety information, provide training of workers, as well as consultation with internal and external stakeholders. Obtaining ISO 45001 certification demonstrates your dedication to your employees’ health and well-being, as well as continual safety development. 

ISO 45001 certification

What are the ISO 45001 Certification Requirements?

ISO 45001 certification is relatively simple once you have an ISO 45001 management system in place. The following are the essential stages to achieve ISO 45001 certification:

  • Develop and implement a management system in accordance with ISO 45001.
  • Make an appointment with a qualified third-party auditor.
  • To ensure compliance, an auditor will examine your processes and implementation.
  • Repair any compliance concerns discovered during the audit, if necessary.
  • ISO 45001 certification will be issued once the requirements are met.

What is the difference between OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001?

OHSAS 18001 was replaced by ISO 45001 standard in March 2018. While ISO 45001 is based on OHSAS 18001, it is a new and distinct standard, not a revision or update. The most significant difference is that ISO 45001 focuses on the interaction between a company and its business environment, whereas OHSAS 18001 was focused on managing occupational health and safety dangers and other internal difficulties. ISO 45001 certification is the new standard to help businesses achieve long-term success.

Who can Apply?

ISO 45001 certification requirements are developed to be applicable to all industries. It does not consider the organization’s size, type, or field of activity. ISO 45001 certification is recommended for all industries, in particular for organizations seeking to implement a universal standard for health and safety in the workplace. Additionally, some RFPs or RFQs may demand (or at least recommend) compliance with the standard when it comes to contracts. In that scenario, going the extra mile to obtain ISO 45001 certification could provide your company an advantage. 

Benefits of ISO 45001 Certification:

  • Reduces workplace injuries that lead to safer working environments
  • Minimizes wastes and operational cost
  • Improves the overall reputation of the company
  • Eliminates the cost of unnecessary expenses 
  • Strengthens the company’s risk management 
  • Enhances customer confidence and satisfaction
  • Increases business opportunities in a global market

Why choose IAS to obtain ISO 45001 Certification?

Although the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) establishes and publishes the ISO 45001 standards, they do not perform certification. Therefore, organizations turn to third-party certification bodies to obtain ISO 45001 certification such as IAS. IAS is a leading ISO 45001 Certification body in the United States and assists companies in ensuring that their ISO 45001 quality management system is effective by conducting conformity assessments with certified experts who are experienced auditors. IAS audits your operations against the standard’s requirements to ensure you properly obtain ISO 45001 certification in a timely manner.

Once you successfully achieve ISO 45001 Certification through IAS, you can check the status of your certificate by visiting our ISO 45001 Certificate Search Page!

How to Contact us?

There are plenty of ways to reach us.

  • Visit our website –
  • Send us your inquiry through our website
  • Drop a mail to [email protected]
  • You can also fill out our ISO 45001 Certification application form and send it to us
  • Or contact us directly to have a free discussion about the auditing process specific to your organization.

Click here to learn more about our ISO 45001 Certification process and the ISO 45001 Audit procedure! Also, see the ISO 45001 Certification frequently asked questions for additional information on the ISO 45001 certification.

check out our blog on how to get ISO Certification!